Plantar Fasciitis

Plantar fasciitis. Two nasty words. PF. I think it really stands for: Pretty Fucked. That’s because I have it and it is a chronic pain for me.

I haven’t run in over 8 weeks. Not since the Tiburon Half Marathon.

it was pretty out

it was pretty out– this was the final mile at the half

I walked the same bike path as that marathon yesterday. Tom went for a run and I am reduced to walking, which let me tell you, doesn’t feel any better than if I had run, I think.

I thought about running. There were A TON of runners out there yesterday. It was a beautiful sunny day.

I was green with envy at all those runners. Ugly green. Hulk green. I wasn’t in a good mood to start the walk, and it seemed to get even cruddier. Jealously is not a good thing.

With each passing runner that stupid jealousy had me picturing myself pulling a Tanya Harding. I know… don’t get on me… I was just so envious. I took a deep breath instead. (((sigh)))

Patience. I remind myself.

What does Plantar Fasciitis feel like you say? Well, for me it feels like I intentionally put a small pebble under my heel in my shoe. So with every step, I feel this pain. It also feels like I pulled a tendon in my arch. Interestingly, both pains subside somewhat after I have walked for about 30 minutes. Of course the pain comes back later, after I’ve been sitting for a short time, upon my first steps. Ouch.

unknown source

source Elrofeet

This past weekend was the first time in the last 8 weeks that I have actually missed running. I think the Holidays were a nice distraction. Now… well, after a getaway this coming weekend, I will be antsy to be doing something again.

This is why I booked an appointment with an acupuncturist for this Wednesday. Dr. Ira. I’m at the end of my rope. I’ve exhausted all types of therapies. I’m now convinced that the only reason the plantar’s went away earlier last year is because I got a cortizone shot. And I may go for another one if Dr. Ira doesn’t fix me. He says he is highly successful in treating Plantar Fasciitis. I’ve heard good things about him, and frankly, I’ve got nothing to lose. Except a few more dollars.

Ice, stretching, compression, massage, foam roller, walking boot, night splint, heel cups, taping, insole inserts, new shoes, graston technique, electric stimulation, laser treatment, no high heel wearing, anti-inflamatories… they all worked for a split second (ok, maybe a day or two) but then pain comes right back.

I haven’t been super religious about all the above mentioned stuff. I get pretty let down when I don’t see results after a week or so. Plus, it’s exhausting. But I still do something EVERYDAY to help manage pain.

And no, I haven’t even been working out. Unless you count making and eating a lot of yummy foods. Does chewing burn many calories? I already know that answer.

It’s time for something to change. Because, although I haven’t even complained about not running (I’ve been very patient, ya know), I just don’t want to have pain. I honestly don’t care about running or working out.

I just don’t want pain.

I’d just like to do some basic walking.

I just want to stand up and not think “ouch”.

Just once.

My dad had PF. He had surgery years ago and it cured it. Now they don’t recommend it. But, I would do it, to make it better.

But first, Dr. Ira.

Fingers are crossed.

I’m hopeful.

6 thoughts on “Plantar Fasciitis

  1. WildBlueCoast says:

    Bummer! Hope that things improve soon.. I know how important it is to be out there.. Doing it.. Hang in there and enjoyed looking over your blog.

    • Anonymous says:

      Sorry about that discouraging news from the Dr. I would have to agree with you about the Dr.s not always having the best plans for healing injuries that are chronic like muscle strains or PF. Try not to let it drag your spirit down. I have had to “give” up on running for months at a time because of these types of problems. I used the down time to strengthen the other parts. Calves, quads, knees (balance). Stretching. And developed some other physical outlets that became enjoyable over time. In time, I was able to go back to running. I am confident that you will be running again. Stay positive! Best to you.

  2. I understand your frustration! PF is so annoying!! I’ve suffered from PF in both feet for the last 2 years now. First, I got it in my left foot and then after a year, it went away. (and it hasn’t came back) Then, I got it in my right foot and now FINALLY after another year, it is starting to go away and is almost gone. I only notice it every now and then. It seems that it has lasted one year per foot.

    You’re right, nothing really seems to work. I’ve also tried everything you mentioned and nothing will make it go away… except time. However, those things do seem to ease the pain a bit. I have ran with my PF. In fact, I had it before I ever started running. So I don’t believe that running caused it. In my case, I believe it was probably from wearing high heels and being overweight, which is why I started running in the first place. So needless to say, I wasn’t going to stop running because of it. To be honest, one of the only times that my PF doesn’t hurt is when I am out running. Like you said, after 30 minutes of walking it doesn’t hurt… It’s the same with running, but doesn’t take as long… maybe a few minutes. I guess what I’m trying to say is if you want to run, go for it! RUN! From my experience, it doesn’t make the PF any worse and it will eventually go away even if you do keep running.

    The BEST shoes for people with PF are Hoka One One. They have awesome cushion and they are like running on clouds or pillows. They really do have that much cushion. It took me many pairs of other running shoes and many hours of research to find the perfect ones. I have 2 pairs, one for running and one for everyday wear and I NEVER go barefoot.. OUCH! I hope that your visit with Dr. Ira helps and that you can find some relief. 🙂

    • Hi CrazyRunner. Thanks for your words. I just went to the doctor and she just frustrated me more. I just wanted to get a cortisone shot and she said I should get an MRI and wear orthotics and do a bunch of strength training for six weeks then see her again. I know it’s not going to get better, I’ve done this before. The MRI is so expensive. I’m totally bummed. I want to just do like you and run with it and hope it goes away. All I’ve been doing the last couple weeks is walking. She also didn’t think the Hoka’s are good and those are the only shoes that feel comfortable! I think doctors are not so bright. She told me to start cycling.

      The acupuncture didn’t help either.

  3. Just read in Runner’s World (Aus/NZ edition, Jan2014) that research in ‘Foot and Ankle International’ showed Botox (of all things!) to be more effective than steroids in easing PF. Who knows – perhaps botox has some positive value after all! 🙂

    • I read it after I saw your comment. It’s very interesting. I’m more likely to try that in my leg or foot than in my face, that is for sure! I will keep the idea on the back burner, I’m totally desperate phase. Which may be soon! 😉

post a comment

