Sun, Surf and Rain

First the fun…

There are just five more days until my second marathon (both run this year) and maybe my last. That I don’t know. I did my last long training run a couple of days ago in beautiful La Jolla. It was a gorgeous morning, sunny and bright, and as per usual of my late runs, I felt like I was dragging. Mostly at the end though.

views like this make running far more tolerable

I guess the drag stemmed from the loads of Thanksgiving yumminess consumed the two prior days. Now it was time to run my last long run in my taper. Just 8 miles. It’s actually somewhat hard for me to run with my coach/BF, as he is so much faster a runner than me. We started off running together, but it was too fast a pace for me to keep up for the entire run. Or… maybe it was the turkey baby I had in my belly. Either way, by the end I was drrrraaagggging. By the end, my coach was about 20 yards ahead of me and could barely hear me shout we had hit 8 miles and I was stopping. Even though our paces are not evenly matched, somehow we make it work and have a good time. After the run, a shower and more leftovers, we took a very long walk on the beach and watched the surf.

Now, the yuck…

Sadly, it looks like it will rain at CIM. That is the forecast for this Sunday, even though yesterday it shows that it was sunny in good ol’ Sac.

rain, rain, go away…

I’m not surprised really. It seems to rain every fifth year at CIM, and this is the next fifth year. Lucky us!!

I am not looking forward to this…rain, as doing the race will be hard enough. Not to mention, I will have to rethink my planned running attire. Guess it’s no cute skirt this time.

Oh well… as the Spartan’s say… (in an email to me this very night)

“If you have no confidence in self, you are twice defeated in the race of life. With confidence, you have won even before you have started.”
-Marcus Tullius Cicero

So true. I’ve done this before, I know I can do it again. Even if it’s raining.

One thought on “Sun, Surf and Rain

  1. Interesting about the rain! I wish the CIM was last Sunday. It was beautiful here! Lets just keep hoping no rain…you never know. Good luck 🙂

post a comment

