The ‘Go Girls’ Are Growing

I’m pretty stoked! Tonight was my Athleta Go Girls run club. It’s the group I lead each Thursday evening from our Mill Valley store.

It was a gorgeous evening, sunny and warm with just enough of a breeze. For some reason today, I had a feeling we were going to have a good turn out, and we did! Last week no one showed so I ran alone. This week it was great to have a group—my biggest yet. The word is spreading.

Every new ‘go girl’ that joins is always a little timid and unsure about running in a group. I sure was my first time joining a group exactly one year ago, and it’s totally natural to feel that way. I remember feeling very humbled, as in, man I’m slow. I had the same worries as some of my girls are having: that they will hold the group back. But the whole point of our group is to work together and encourage one another. I am doing my best to do that (encourage) and also to not set too fast of a pace, but I do want my go girls to push themselves a little more each time—you can do it!! I’ve already seen some major improvement with a few of the regular gals (Christi and Connie). It is very exciting to watch.

i never realized i was so short!

Next week I’d like to add an additional mile to our 3.75 mile run. I’m positive the go girls are up for it. I think they will be surprised just how much stronger they are getting.

If you live in Marin County CA and want to run with the Athleta Go Girls run club, we’d love to have you! (Men are welcome too!!) It’s every Thursday evening at 6 p.m. We meet at the store in Strawberry Village and run a loop from there. It’s a great way to meet other runners in the area, make new friends, improve your running and most importantly… have fun!

Tell me, do you run regularly with a run group/club? 

Do you have any funny run club stories to share?


2 thoughts on “The ‘Go Girls’ Are Growing

  1. I wanna be a go girl someday.

  2. Gretchen says:

    Goooo Go Girls!!

post a comment

