Christmas… in March?

While reading some online running quotes today, I stumbled across one of those pieces, ‘You know you’re a runner when…” and one said:

~the only time major household projects get done is during tapering or race recovery.

Guilty.

Being that I am recovering from a marathon with additional jail time waiting for my calf strain to mend, I now have ample time to tackle those… eh hem… projects. Suffice to say, as I have assessed the current condition of my house, that… well, I have not been paying much attention to the household these past three, truthfully more like six, months. (I was previously training for a half in December.)

there's a reindeer in my boot

Starting with this: Christmas decorations.
I know… IT’S MARCH! I know!
Now, there were only just a few items left out on the mantle. Not sure why I didn’t put them away at the same time I ditched the flocked tree. In part, it was because the box I usually stored the mantle decorations in was filled with the new strings of single colored lights I aquired this past holiday. Of course if it really bothered me I would have probably seen to it sooner than now. Except I do like Woody. He is one of my favorite Disney characters. He is always the centerpiece of my Christmas mantle. He even has a pull string in his back that when yanked makes him say silly Christmas lines, like, “I’m gonna lasso me a Merry Christmas” and “Let’s rustle up some presents!”

The remaining decorations were the stocking hangers and this small assortment of ice skating ornaments that I no longer hang on my tree (I have dozens of them collected over the years) but now only put a few out, this year around a long candle centerpiece. Interestingly, I don’t own any running theme ornaments. And I don’t plan on getting any. After years of heavily decorating for the holidays, the last few years have been quieter, more simple. The tree is the main focal point with only round ball ornaments and the mantle holding the stockings is the only other place where I embellish our house with the holiday theme. One would think that this would make putting them away an easy task. Truthfully, these last few items only took about five minutes this morning. I was so wrapped up in training for the marathon, working and being a single parent, that I neglected the task all together. Until today. Phew. That is finally done!

As much as I miss running, this small break does have some advantages.
I am catching up on all the things I’ve neglected.
My taxes (a task to be completed this week, I hope).
I’m organizing my desk overgrown with papers and bills.
I’m slowly cleaning out closets.
I only have to wash my hair every other day again. Oh stop… not everyone washes their hair everyday, they just won’t admit it.
I don’t have to double knot my shoes every time I wear them.
I don’t have to tape my toes to prevent blisters everyday.
My appetite has gone WAY down. Before the marathon I was constantly hungry and eating.
My loads of laundry are way smaller… no running clothes.
I have more energy to cook dinner and spend time with my boys (as much time as teenage boys are willing to spend with their mom.)

I do miss running though. The bike just doesn’t do it for me the way running does. My run group has been posting all these interesting runs in the coming weeks that I would like to do (I’m so jealous!), but I want to be fully recovered before I start running again. New running shoes is also on my to-do list and I want to get fitted for the right shoe this time and hopefully avoid future injury. Now that I am running with a forefoot strike, my therapist recommended Newtons. I’m not sure if that is the right shoe for me ($$$ and funky colors), but I will investigate.

Even though it’s only been a week and a half since the marathon, it feels like torture not being able to run. Running is my therapy and I’m having a hard time not getting my sessions in. I miss running. I miss the runner’s high.

The good news is, my calf is starting to heal. It feels more flexible and stronger than it has for three weeks. Interestingly, the only time I felt pin pricks in it was the day I didn’t wear the KT Tape.

This might be wishful thinking, but I am hoping to be fully recovered in the next two weeks. In the meantime, I will be fussing around the house getting it under control before someone nominates me for that Hoarders show!

post a comment

