Change Starts Now

In an effort to keep my sanity, as I am not able to run with my strained calf, I have spent portions of this day reassessing my life, my goals, and even my blog.

i choose happy

Yesterday, as well as earlier today, I was experiencing some blues (not post marathon, I promise!) and that just doesn’t sit well with me. Life is so much more enjoyable when you’re happy, which I usually am. That is why I decided to make some changes today. One, is this blog. It’s not that I’m unhappy with it, but it was a good distraction from my unhappiness (part not being able to run, part personal stuff.) I just needed a change, so I hope you like the new format. I think it is a bit more interesting without being too different. It’s still a work in progress, but I’ve updated and edited some of the other pages (about me, races, tunes), so check them out!

Since I’m unable to run, I am left with spending what time I would be running on the trainer. I don’t really mind the continuous pedaling. I still am listening to my run songs and am imagining myself running. I have entertainment (a movie with subtitles playing on my nearby computer) and even my iphone so I can check email/messages. Funny how I still need to be plugged in–don’t want to miss anything. It also helps to avoid boredom. This particular morning I had zero desire to work out. I had to remind myself of what I say to my two teenage boys every single morning when they don’t want to get up for school, “you have to make yourself do it.’ I made myself do it. One hour later I was glad I did. My brain wanted to do more, but my calf was starting to ache and I didn’t want to do more damage. I’m honestly not even sure I should be riding for that long, but I have to do something to replace running.

While I pedaled away I thought about what is going on in my life and what I can do to make it better while I can’t run (which is the one activity that always seems to make everything better, you know?) One of the decisions I made was to be more proactive helping others. Previously I posted at the beginning of this year why I thought I had such a fantastic year in 2011 and that I believe was because I was giving back. I fundraised for Autism Research and I donated to a number of charities and that all felt really good. So far this year I have slacked. With that in mind, I pledge to get back on track and do more… starting today. A few of my running buddies are participating in the Marin County Half Marathon in a few weeks. There is no way I would be able to run that with my current injury, so I decided to volunteer in some way. I won’t be there on race day, but I am signed up to work the race packet pick-up the afternoon before. It will be nice to have a connection to other runners and be on the other side of a race. I am also going to make a few donations in the coming months. One for my Spartan Sister, Beth, who is doing the Susan G. Koman breast cancer walk. The others for my other running friends, Maili and Sonja. (So ladies, since I know you are reading this… hold me to it!) 😉

I wasn’t happy with the time change today either. I wish I had more time in the day as it is (like four more hours!), and now it’s an hour less. Ugh. That didn’t help matters.

All in all, I turned my day around and that feels great! The way I felt this morning and how I feel tonight are a world apart. I know the rehabilitation of my calf is going to take a few weeks and it’s going to be more of a mental challange than the marathon I ran last week. I know the personal issues I am dealing with will subside in time. What’s important is that I remain proactive and not wallow in misery. Being proactive will keep me on an even level. And that is all I really can do.

“Happiness is like a butterfly.
The more you chase it, the more it eludes you.
But if you turn your attention to other things,
It comes and sits softly on your shoulder.”
~ Henry David Thoreau

2 thoughts on “Change Starts Now

  1. I love that you’ll be volunteering for the Marin County Half! You are so right about giving back… it really is a win win for everyone. I’m glad you’re finding positive ways to get through your healing process, and you will get through it!

post a comment

