Badass or Dumb Ass?

Now that the lactic acid has subsided, a few days after the marathon, that thought, “badass or dumb ass,” has been swirling around in my mind. In a humorous kind of way.

After the race, a few folks told me I am badass for running a marathon with a strained calf. Initially that felt pretty good to hear. But yesterday, I kinda felt like I’m a dumb ass for putting that kind of strain on an already injured body part.

The thing is, I knew what I was getting myself into. I knew going into the marathon that I was going to do whatever I could to finish that race, even if it killed me. OK… not dead, but killed my calf. It was a risk I was willing to take. Badass, right? Right?

On Tuesday, as the muscle soreness had somewhat died down, I was left limping or favoring my right calf as that is the only pain left. Well, that and my pinky toe that had about 7 layers of skin (I think that is the limit) rubbed off from the athletic tape on the toe next to it (which was suggested by an ‘expert’ to use on my toes to prevent blisters.) That toe was a throbbing raw bloody mess at the end of the race. Oh well. Minor details. I still am hobbling around with a limp (which is so unattractive), unable to take a normal stride, and am unsure how long it will be before I can run again (or wear high heeled shoes!) I can’t even manage a regular calf stretch.

I only slept about 3 hours last night, which lent me to thinking. And thinking. And thinking. And thinking. Oh God, and thinking. I probably wrote a hundred different blogs in my head. Mostly about running. Mostly. Anyhow, I decided that I’m not a dumb ass. Laying in the dark, I started to feel happy and excited about my race. I am a badass! I should be proud of my accomplishment. I just ran my first marathon and that entitles me to some bragging rights. If only just for this week. I think I should be shouting it from the rooftops.

I FRICKIN’ RAN 26.2 MILES ON A STRAINED CALF!

Yep, bragging rights. I earned it.

cheesy smiles for the photographer - notice how my fingernails match my calf sleeves?

Now, as I bask in the glow of that last statement, I am hit with a multitude of emails tonight from my marathon team (kick ass). Apparently, they have all just registered today for CIM~California International Marathon in Sacramento in early December. I haven’t registered yet, but I know I will join in, most likely tomorrow. I have to. Dumb ass? No. I will have eight months to get ready for it. Plus, I really want to run a marathon injury free, so this is just another opportunity to see what I’m made of. Oh wait, we already know…
I’M A BADASS! (bragging rights, remember!) 😉

still beaming even after 26.2!

Just thinking about it, I’m actually getting excited. I am thrilled to be able to continue to train with my running buddies, Maili (who started the CIM marathon schenanigans), Sonja, Jack and the Italian lovers Shanna and Maurizio! Maybe Maurizio will beat his wife this time??? Guess we will have to wait and see… personally, I can’t wait!

8 thoughts on “Badass or Dumb Ass?

  1. bearrunner says:

    I’d say your a bad ass!!!! And you looked good doing it also… Cheers to you!

  2. If I had to judge based just on your pictures, Bad Ass wins hands down. Looks like you were totally rocking on the road, and what a big beamin’ smile in the finisher’s area. I wish I could look that happy after 26–or even before it…

    I absolutely can relate to the risk you were taking by following through on the race. I had been battling a really bad shin split last fall before my second marathon. I truly thought I was on the verge of doing some long-term damage–but couldn’t bear it to not run it. Fortunately, it didn’t turn into something much worse.

  3. Sonja says:

    Certainly glad you jumped on the bandwagon! You’ve got plenty of time to recover and retrain…without injury this time 🙂

  4. Tita says:

    Crazy but badass! Congrats on pulling it off! I’m contemplating CIM too. Was supposed to run it in 2011 but got derailed. Maybe we’ll cross paths there? Happy trails til then!

    • Thanks! You should register before the price goes up on March 15th! It would be great to cross paths sometime. Are you doing any other races in the Bay Area this year? I’m thinking of doing See Jane Run and I’m registered for the Giants Race in Sept. 🙂

  5. Of course you are a BADASS!!! Even when you’ve doubted yourself, I always knew that your bad ass would kick ass in that marathon…just like you will at CIM 😉

  6. Lydia H says:

    The two are not exclusive. You can be both. (= Congratulations on your race. It’s the mark of a true marathoner that we think about our next race before we are recovered from the current one!

    Good luck on your next race.

post a comment

