Embracing Rest

This is hard. Really, really hard. Today I am taking a rest day. I hate rest days! I do! I enjoy working out and how I feel afterwards. I tend to be in a better mood all day (probably because I can eat a little more!) My training plan says today is a rest or cross training day. I usually only rest one day a week: Saturday. My initial plan today was to hop on the trainer (stationary bike) and crank out one hour or so. But when I woke up this morning I thought, I’m so tired of rushing around everyday. If I do the hour or even forty-five minutes plus some ab work, I will still just make it to work on time, most likely with my dirty hair in a ponytail. Which is usually fine. I’ve done it many times before. Today for some odd reason I woke up and said to myself… no.. take a rest day! I think it’s because right before I went to bed last night I got an email from Runner’s World. It’s called the Daily Kick in The Butt quote. That email flashed me subliminal messages all night while I slept, I think.

This is what it said:

I constantly remind myself that resting takes confidence. Anyone can train like a mad man but to embrace rest and to allow all the hard training to come out takes mental strength.Β 
~ Ryan HallΒ 

These are wise words. I mean, if Ryan Hall, an elite runner can take a day off… so should I. I am no one in the running world. Just little old me thinking I am elite! Ha! I certainly am not. I work hard though, sometimes like a mad man. I did run 18 miles on Sunday in prep for the Napa Valley Marathon. I did a fifty minute session on the trainer Monday and I ran the three scheduled miles on Tuesday. So I can take today off… er, confidently. Rest my weary body. Even though it doesn’t feel weary and that is why there is such a fight to rest. I want to workout! I am a mad man!! Telling myself no is so so hard! But I am going to stay strong!

I am taking the rest day. I will embrace it. I have actually gotten quite a bit done already today. I cleaned the cat’s water fountain, scooped the littler, took the dog out, got the kids out the door for school. Paid off my year’s financing for my mac (yeah!), ate breakfast and wrote this. Now I just need to get ready for work (with washed hair!!) and thankfully I will not be rushing out the door! It feels good! (Work is kinda like a workout… I am on my feet for 7 hours!) Tomorrow I will be back with an extra oomph! I already can’t wait to run those seven scheduled miles! See what I have to look forward to? I only hope it isn’t raining too hard like the weatherman is predicting. Oh well… if it does, it will be good practice for the Spartan Race I will be partaking in next week! I will talk about that in the coming days!

it's all Greek!

Todays Tip via my SmartCoach:
Eat Greek yogurt because it contains up to twice as much protein as American-type yogurts. To cut down on fat and sugar, buy low-fat plain Greek yogurt and add fresh fruit. This type of yogurt has a thicker, creamier taste than American-type yogurts because it is strained to remove excess liquid.

Greek yogurt and strawberries

I’m already a huge fan of Greek yogurt as you can see in my fridge!
I love, love, love it! I eat it twice a day. Once in the morning with banana and once before bed with strawberries and sometimes I add pineapple or hershey’s chocolate syrup! Yum. I mostly eat the non-fat version. Fage is my favorite brand!

Try it! You will be surprised. πŸ™‚

7 thoughts on “Embracing Rest

  1. I can completely relate- does take courage to rest. Always worry I’m gonna slip back, loose ground. But I know my body needs to restore. And I’m a huge fan of Greek yogurt too πŸ™‚

  2. You deserve the rest. Thanks for posting that. The vegan diet is kicking my butt and my trainer just keeps telling to rest, take a step back from training until I figure out the nutrients…… and I so LOVED Fage yogurt. No more dairy. ;O( It was my go to after work out protein with fruit and granola.

  3. Fage was on sale at Whole Foods last night…I stocked up πŸ™‚ My favorite combo is with banana, cinnamon, and molasses!

post a comment

