A Merry Little Run

Today is Christmas and my Runner’s World Smart Coach Training Plan called for a fourteen mile run. I am training for the Napa Valley Marathon in March and using this plan to help get me there. The last RW plan was successful on my recent half marathon so I thought I’d use it again to help me with my first (and possibly only) marathon.

I did not want to really run at all today given the holiday and felt like a fourteen-miler would be really selfish. My children have been warned that in the next few months until March 4th, mom is going to be a bit selfish with her running and her free time. Now that I am working, it is imperative to spend my off hours getting my run on. But fourteen miles on Christmas! No! Thankfully my boys were going to their dad’s for some present opening which gave me a small window of time to at least get some sort of run in. I decided to run on my treadmill, which I honestly have no problem running on (I love my treadmill!) even though it was a lovely day out. I chose the treadmill over the outside because I wasn’t sure how far I was going to run and it just seemed to be the only decision I could commit to. Plus I was feeling a bit uneasy about possibly running that far alone on the Holiday when everyone is inside with their families. I recently had a creepy experience/encounter that still has me a bit shaken up–enough to keep me inside at the moment.

How far to run on my treadmill was still running (if you will) back and forth in my head… six, no… ten, well… maybe nine… no, do the six and swap today’s fourteen for next weekend’s six mile run. No, do nine and then five tomorrow to hit fourteen total. Ugh… decisions, decisions. Just start running and see where you end up girl!

Because I ran on my treadmill, I had to have a few useful tools. Always there is my tissue box and chapstick. The fan is also set up on the TV console. I decided to watch something I have seen a few times and has subtitles since we own the DVD. Lord of the Rings, Fellowship of the Ring was a good choice as it is filled with action, a little romance and is long enough to carry me the full distance if I chose to go there. Even though my plan called for a 10:12 pace, I wasn’t going to run fast and I didn’t – just under an eleven minute mile pace (10:54) and that suited me just fine.

I had some gatorade and water mixed and one GU and some cut up peanut butter bonk bar that I have been wanting to try. I turned on the movie (with the sound off), turned on my ipod with the sound loud and started the treadmill.

Now, does anyone really care how my actual run went? Probably not. It was it’s usual push and pull of mental strength vs. physical strength. One thing about me is that I am pretty determined to do what I set out to do. So even though I could have just run the six miles, I would not have been satisfied. So I went the distance. Mostly because the thought I kept coming back to was this: You are training for a marathon and you need to put in the miles if you are going to complete it. So, it doesn’t matter how long it takes you do this run and it doesn’t matter what your pace is. What matters is that you run what is on your plan. You run those fourteen miles no matter what. You do what you set out to do even if you don’t feel like it. So that’s what I did. The bonus was that I don’t feel too guilty for all the food I stuffed in my face at my mom’s to celebrate Christmas. It actually felt pretty good, the run. Sometimes I think I was born to run long distances. At least that is what I keep telling myself. I also keep telling myself, it’s just fourteen miles, as if that is not very much. Because when I think of it like that, 26.2 won’t seem so big. Ha!

This following dialog is from the movie today and is what stuck out while I ran along. It sort of related to my running.

SAM:  
If I take one more step, it’ll be the farthest away from home I’ve ever been.

FRODO:  
Come on Sam. Remember what Bilbo used to say: It’s a dangerous business going out your door. You step onto the road and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no knowing where you might be swept off to.

I don’t know where my running is going to sweep me off to, but I am enjoying the ride so far and can’t wait to find out!

Merry Christmas to all of you! May your runs be bright!

One thought on “A Merry Little Run

  1. Kim Krupsha says:

    The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.

post a comment

